Ya Gotta have faitha faitha faith!

by

After my first day at the International Auto Show at the CT Convention Center in Hartford, CT this past Saturday, I packed up and hopped on the shuttle bus to the parking garage across town. Since I pay $100 per month to park there for work, I figured I would use that garage and hop on the free shuttle for a ride to my book signing for “Strapped Into An American Dream.” I was happy to discover that I was the lone rider on the retreat. That all changed dramatically on the next stop. Apparently the Women of Faith Expo was going on at the nearby XL Center. Women began piling into the bus until every seat was taken. I even had to remove my heavy tote bag of books from the seat next to me to provide one more seat to the faithful. Some women had to stand. I thought about giving up my seat to one of the women standing, but not for long and the thought soon passed. The bus driver turned to me in the front seat and laughed. Then the women of faith began commenting on how I was the only guy on the bus. When I finally got off at my parking garage, I noticed the convention chaos continued. Women were everywhere, and I didn’t stand a chance. I joked with the women on the bus saying that they wouldn’t hear a peep out of me. I made it to the 5th floor via the elevator full of me and about 15 women. Again, comments about me being outnumbered came acallin’. When I made it to my car, I zipped around the 5th floor to the 4th and had to stop. I was in gridlock for the next 45 minutes. Two older ladies getting back to their car laughed when they saw me shaking my head. I rolled down my window and they proceeded to tell me that out of all that traffic, I was the only guy in the garage. I had faith that I would get out of that garage; so did the women of faith. After all, it was in their title. I was happy to see their cars finally head for the highway, and the next day I used the Convention Center parking garage. After the show, I didn’t have to rely on my faitha faitha faith!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

